My Old Friend, this coffee shop.

Again, a familiar scene, this old coffee shop has been good to me.  Ah, there’s a seat.  I’m just in time to catch a chair, comfy.  Relax my mind, settled.  The soundtrack includes pleasant voice murmurs and chuckles, clicking plates and cups, old wooden chair groans, and the thump of doors escaping controlling hands, wanting to be shut more quickly.

It’s been awhile since I’ve visited this place.  My new work has taken a bit of time.  I’ve accepted journeyman work with a home remodeling expert, of many years.  This has, indeed, become one of my passions.  We assess the old and outdated, destroy it, fulfilling some ideal vision of living space, making dreams come true!

Now, in the midst of winter, work lightens.  I find myself here, at this familiar space, which doesn’t seem to change.  This is good!  What is different is not having written in so long.  It must be the right thing to do, in this place.

My side project has been art and map design, which I am slowly becoming known.  The challenge is not with design as it is with promotion.  I can find galleries and sites to show my work, but the world will not know me until I spend the money… But how can I without cash flow?  That’s always the puzzle.

To date, the most successful design launch has been for a world travelers’ pushpin map.  I launched the work last week and have had a huge number of clicks to the Etsy site I’ve posted it.  I’ve also had a request to customize the colors… exciting!

Etsy Page Map link

Now that work is slow, I can focus on expanding my craft and build a stable future that can blend design work and building projects.  Satisfying a breadth of interests and skills, the world is looking pretty good.  I am free to develop my mind in the company of others.  Thanks to this old coffee shop.

Leave a Reply

